24
Dec
09

Twas the day before Christmas…..

said I to my spouse, “I wonder who’ll come and look at my house?”  The shingles all hung in colors so fair,  in hopes that Audax and the Dee-Bees would be there.  A ton of ideas swirled around in my head, do I dare try to make a big- tall gingerbread?  So I in my socks with the comp on my lap, decided to go and look at some shacks.  Would it look like a house or something from Saturn?  I decided I needed a very good pattern.  Away to the bookstore I drove in a flash, and opened my pocket and pulled out some cash.   I was ready to begin so I mixed up the dough, put it into the fridge then painted my toes. 🙂  Time to move on I pulled out  my gear,  rolling the dough was nothing to fear.  I was too cocky and tried to be slick, and rolled out my dough so it wasn’t too thick.  What was I thinking my head hung in shame, the wall broke in half-there goes my frame.  Think Amber- a bit faster- no time for more mixing, I’ll make super stiff icing and begin all the fixing.  I said a few “words”, and went straight to work.  So many details but I would definitely not shirk.  With icing all over from my hands to my nose, I felt exhausted from the highs and the lows.  I took a step back and saw a great house,  even with mistakes it pleased me and my spouse.  With a huge smile on my face and with a voice of delight,  Merry Christmas to all and to all a good night!

The December 2009 Daring Bakers’ challenge was brought to you by Anna of Very Small Anna and Y of Lemonpi. They chose to challenge Daring Bakers’ everywhere to bake and assemble a gingerbread house from scratch.

10 Responses to “Twas the day before Christmas…..”


  1. December 25, 2009 at 3:22 am

    Your town house is beautiful! Especially the colours and that perfect hedge 🙂

  2. December 25, 2009 at 11:29 pm

    Gorgeous little house! I love your decorations =D.

  3. 3 Sue
    December 26, 2009 at 2:44 am

    WOW! Love all the details! It’s beautiful! GREAT job! (I haven’t finished my simple one yet!)

  4. 4 Papilles au nature
    December 27, 2009 at 5:08 pm

    I love the curtains in the windows. nice.

  5. December 28, 2009 at 12:07 am

    Cute story. Love the house, the shingles are especially lovely and the detail for the curtains and door.

  6. 6 peasepudding
    December 28, 2009 at 9:23 am

    Beautiful house and the rhyming story is very poetic, you are very talented!

  7. December 29, 2009 at 8:02 am

    a two-story house.. wow.. great job! and it all rhymes.. too cool.. 🙂

  8. 8 apes
    December 30, 2009 at 2:37 pm

    YOU ARE SO CLEVER! 🙂 Yes indeedy. If you ever say that you are not creative, I shall make you read this post again. What a genius idea to write about your challenge this way! Love it, love it, love it! Mr. Gingerbread man is one lucky dude to reside in your fancy abode. Seriously . . . you put shingles, curtains in the windows, and hedges around the yard? You are amazing. Can you make my real house look that good? 🙂 Oooh, wouldn’t it be cool to live in a gingerbread house . . . yummy.

  9. December 30, 2009 at 7:54 pm

    Love the poem! And I really like your house’s colour scheme: pastel makes it look really pretty. You really did a wonderful job on the decorations and trimmings!

  10. 10 Kylene Ott
    January 7, 2010 at 11:38 pm

    Holy Cow!! You are amazing! And a poem? Seriously?!! You put the rest of us to shame 🙂


Leave a Reply

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Nov »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
DK

