27
Nov
09

Holy Moley, it’s Cannoli!

So I’ve been noticeably absent the last couple of months, and to be honest I didn’t think I’d be able to continue…..but I finished some training and am now just doing language -so I freed up some time.  YAY!!!  (Just a heads up…trying to learn Russian, not so easy.)   I was excited to get a challenge that would take my mind off all the foreign words occupying my brain and when I read our challenge I was not very excited…but hey it was something new that I hadn’t done before so I jumped aboard. 

The November 2009 Daring Bakers Challenge was chosen and hosted by Lisa Michele of Parsley, Sage, Desserts and Line Drives. She chose the Italian Pastry, Cannolo (Cannoli is plural), using the cookbooks Lidia’s Italian-American Kitchen by Lidia Matticchio Bastianich and The Sopranos Family Cookbook by Allen Rucker; recipes by Michelle Scicolone, as ingredient/direction guides. She added her own modifications/changes, so the recipe is not 100% verbatim from either book.

I’ve had Cannoli before and I’ve never liked it, so I went into it a little half hearted.  I did purchase the cannoli forms and I love having them, totally recommend everyone getting them.  Even if you NEVER use them.   There’s nothing like the feeling you get when you open the drawer and see them and think to yourself…I could totally make Cannoli right now if I wanted to.  🙂  The dough was super easy to make and as I was working with it the smell was so light and delicious I started getting pretty excited about this little treat.  I used a pasta machine to get the dough thin enough which worked perfectly and made it a simple task.  I  worked my way down to the second to smallest setting and thought I should try them a little thicker.  I made 2 that were not as thin but I didn’t get the bubble effect and I didn’t think they looked as lovely.  (sorry there are no pics of the process, still trying to figure the lighting out in the apt.) 

I’ve never really fried before so I was a little scared, but as I went along and they were looking so pretty I forgot how scary it was.  I did taste one before I filled it and I did not like it very much….so I was a little bummed.  I was going to make two fillings…the pumpkin one that Lisa was generous enough to give us and a lemon mousse-like one.  I got all my ingredients out for the pumpkin one and my pumpkin was bad.  ARGH!!!!!  I love me the pumpkin but since we were going out of town I didn’t want to go out and purchase a new one to leave in the fridge for a week.  So I just stuck with the lemon.  Oh My Goodness!  Once I filled the cannoli shells and tried them….I LOVED them.  They were fantastic.  The filling made the flavors in the shell jump out.  I couldn’t stop eating them.  The crisp bite of the shell was perfect I was so proud of myself.   I will never purchase a cannoli again as it could never compete with the homemade one.  I can’t wait to try the pumpkin filling.   

Thanks Lisa for expanding my horizons….and giving us a great challenge. 

Easy Lemon Mousse

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 tablespoons grated fresh lemon rind
  • 2/3 cup lemon juice
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 package unflavored gelatin
  • 1/4 cup cold water
  • 2 cups whipping cream

Bring sugar, lemon rind and juice to boil. In a bowl beat eggs; pour in hot lemon mixture and mix well. Pour back into pan and bring to just a boil over medium heat, stirring constantly.  Cook and stir constantly for 5 minutes, or until thickened.  Scrape into a bowl. Sprinkle gelatin over cold water in small saucepan; let stand 5 minutes.  Heat over low heat until dissolved; stir into lemon mixture, mixing well.  Place plastic wrap on surface of mousse and let cool, stirring once, gently,for 30 minutes or until no longer warm.  In another bowl, whip cream and fold into lemon mixture.  Refrigerate.

6 Responses to “Holy Moley, it’s Cannoli!”


  1. November 28, 2009 at 2:16 pm

    Holy Moley they looks perfect so well blistered and warty well done on this challenge. Outstanding photos. Cheers from Audax in Australia.

  2. November 29, 2009 at 5:38 pm

    They look gorgeous, well done 🙂

  3. November 29, 2009 at 9:34 pm

    These look fantastic. And I love the lemon filling idea.

  4. December 2, 2009 at 2:12 am

    You did a great job with them! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  5. 5 Kylene Ott
    December 10, 2009 at 11:41 pm

    Hey! These look awesome. I am so impressed! See…you don’t need that beautiful kitchen if you have talent!! Great job:)

  6. 6 apes
    December 30, 2009 at 2:27 pm

    Yay! This post was impressive AND educational! I didn’t realize that cannoli was the plural form of the word. 🙂 Well, you know I like me some good sweet treats . . . and your photos had me salivating AGAIN. I give you 2 thumbs up, 5 stars, etc. (or whatever cooking people use to tell you what an AMAZING job you did!). Love ya!


Leave a Reply

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
DK

