27
Jun
09

heart to heart pudding or tart?

I can’t believe that it’s time to post another DB challenge.  For the first time EVER I completed my challenge way ahead of time.  YAY me!  The only problem with that is I mentally moved on and almost forgot to post about it.  Thank goodness I remembered because this month’s challenge is fan-freakin-tastic. delicious

 The June Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Jasmine of Confessions of a Cardamom Addict and Annemarie of Ambrosia and Nectar. They chose a Traditional (UK) Bakewell Tart… er… pudding that was inspired by a rich baking history dating back to the 1800’s in England.  The debate seems to be that no one’s quite sure if this is a tart or pudding and is this really a dessert.  I for one wouldn’t classify it as a “dessert” so much as a sweet course to have with tea. (except you can have it with anything at anytime…and trust me I did)  It’s absolutely delicious. crust puddingfrangipane

We had two mandatory elements….the pastry crust and the frangipane.  The crust was simple and very delicate and was just enough to fit in my glass tart pan.  I chose to blind bake the crust just in case so I wouldn’t end up with a soggy bottom.  The frangipane is what really makes this Bakewell tart.  It’s aroma of almond makes it an experience before it even hits your tastebuds.  There was a lot of talk about how the frangipane didn’t mix well, but I found that when the ingredients were room temp it was just fine.  Our lovely hostesses then gave us the freedom to use any homemade jam or curd to finish the tart/pudding.  I thought why not make this tart with pudding and then I shall have solved the dilemma of the tart/pudding debate.  It will be both.  I intended to make a blackberry pudding, but apparently I live in an area that is not palate adventurous and I could not find a blackberry.  I decided to then go with the blueberry and just as a word of caution……. berries stain.  

The feedback on this challenge was nothing but accolades…and according to boy….it was “a taste of heaven”.   Heperfect ended up eating 3/4 of it.  (teenage boys are amazingly able to eat a lot of food)  You really wouldn’t think that you could do much with this challenge but I definitely have to give a shout out to all my DB friends.  Their ability to make such creative pieces blow me away..you should definitely check them out and see how it really should be done.  One day I’ll get there….  🙂 

Berry Pudding

2 qts fresh berries

1 c water

1 3/4 c sugar

1/2 c flour

1/4 butter

2  tsp vanilla

Bring berries and 1 c of water to boil.  Reduce heat, and simmer for 5 minutes till berries are soft.  Mash berries with a fork and pour through wire mesh strainer, using back of the spoon to squeeze out all the juice you can.  Boil at reduced heat to reduce juice volume to 2 cups.  Combine sugar and flour in a saucepan; gradually add the berry juice, whisking constantly until smooth.  Bring to boil over medium heat whisking constantly.  Reduce heat and simmer for 3 minutes  or until thickened. Remove from heat, stir in butter and vanilla

5 Responses to “heart to heart pudding or tart?”


  1. June 28, 2009 at 10:39 am

    I totally agree, the frangipane in this tart is sublime, isn’t it? I didn’t actually know what frangipane was before making this (I thought it was a flower) but I fell in love with it!

  2. June 28, 2009 at 11:25 pm

    You know, I’d never made frangipane before this challenge, and I don’t remember ever having it before – it TOTALLY makes the tart, it was lovely!

    Your jam looks so smooth and perfect! Wow!

  3. June 29, 2009 at 3:21 am

    Your tart/pudding looks fantastic! I will have to try making it with your berry pudding.

  4. June 29, 2009 at 6:22 pm

    MMMMMMMMMMMMMMM! Very well done! This looks delicious =D

  5. 5 apes
    July 22, 2009 at 2:33 am

    Ooooh, it looks so gourmet! And what are you talking about “one day you’ll get there”??? Girl, you have long since ARRIVED. 🙂 Your pictures are so great, too! I have to remind myself that I can’t just reach up and grab the food off my computer monitor! You outdid yourself AGAIN, my friend.


Leave a Reply

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
DK

