27
Apr
09

Piece of Cake….

db2So I have finally caved….and started my own blog.  I have always been the anti-blog person in the group.  So not willing to spend the time plus I’m not naturally creative and always felt that blogging would stress me out.   I joined this “little” group called the Daring Bakers’ about a year ago and through natural progression have ended up here.   Some people that I’ve talked to have assured me that blogging is a “piece of cake”, but I’ve learned that I am technologically inept and that “piece of cake” is nowhere in sight.  Therefore, I am blindly jumping into this adventure and enjoying the sights as I go.  Hey….who doesn’t love an adventure right? (plus they are always fun if people come with you to share the experience)  Anyway….back to cake. 

The April 2009 challenge is hosted by Jenny from Jenny Bakes. She has chosen Abbey’s Infamous Cheesecake as the challenge.db-43

Who is this Abbey they speak of and why is she infamous?  Well I still don’t know about who she is, but I will tell you she’s infamous because this cheesecake is so moist.  I’m talking perfectly moist, the kind of moist you dream about and covet when you eat cheesecake from a fine restaurant.  The recipe was basic and simple and the challenge was to make it unique.  (what is with all this creativity…don’t they know I have no imagination?)  I decided that I would make a light tasting cheesecake to go along with the spring weather we’ve been experiencing.  I made a coconut flavored cheesecake with a mandarin/mango juice glaze.  I was gonna stop there, but I was feeling that I needed to step it up a smidge since I have my own blog now and chose to frost the sides with a thin layer of buttercream and topped it with some sugared almonds.  Doesn’t sound really good when you mention frosting eh?, but it takes the cheesecake to a different level.  It makes it more than just a cheesecake and it tastes really good.   db1

So there it is….my first post.  Ta-Da!!  Once I figure it all out, there will be links and a button and all the other stuff that makes a blog a blog.  ( I know…crazy talk right?!)

7 Responses to “Piece of Cake….”


  1. April 27, 2009 at 10:22 pm

    Fantabulous cheesecake!!! I am sooooooooooo in love with the idea of coconut and mandarin *slurp*

    I think your blog is adorable and I look forward to watching it grow!

    Hugs sweetie!
    xoxoxo

  2. April 27, 2009 at 10:58 pm

    I combination of mandarin oranges and coconut sounds sooo good right now. I’m not sure if I am on board with the buttercream, but I’ll never know until I try.

    By the way, this is a great first post. 🙂 You can’t ever go wrong with a spectacular cheesecake!

  3. 3 Mama Koz
    April 28, 2009 at 12:01 am

    wow! verrrrry impressive, girly girl! i think i NEEEED to do the taste test in order to give a valid comment……..HOWEVER; the presentation is amazing………which is what it’s allll about, huh?! this mama loves her girl!!
    congratulations, mine sweet!!
    love you muchly!
    meeee

  4. 4 illapuella
    April 29, 2009 at 3:38 am

    Great looking cheesecake, gdfd! And kudos on the start of a new blog. I’ll admit I’ve just started mine, too, and it was mostly to keep up with Daring Baker and Daring Cook.

    I couldn’t figure out how you go the almonds on the side at first. I love your solution with the buttercream. Cool!

  5. 5 abbeyth
    April 29, 2009 at 12:28 pm

    Mmm! That looks fantastic, and the flavor combination sounds delicious. Believe it or not, I’m actually “the” Abbey behind the recipe, and I’m totally honored to have helped make your first post a success. I’m starting up a food blog myself, so I know it’s hard to get started. I’m so glad you liked the recipe, and hope you get many more chances to make it. 🙂

  6. May 5, 2009 at 5:40 pm

    I think you really did a spectacular job on this one. It looks beautiful, but it sounds like it tasted really good too with the almonds and coconut and mandarin! Thanks for being a part of the April Daring Bakers Challenge!

    Jenny of JennyBakes

  7. 7 apes
    May 18, 2009 at 9:16 pm

    Wow, it really does look like you described it . . . and the boys said it was the best cheesecake ever, so I know it must have tasted good. Can you make me one when I come see you? LOL


Leave a Reply

April 2009
M T W T F S S
    May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
DK

